1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Open water course time limit?

Discussion in 'New to Scuba Diving' started by RosieB, Nov 4, 2018.

1. RosieB

RosieB New Member

Hi guys,
    I was just looking for a bit of advice. I started my padi pool dives and learning from the book in October 2016. When I started the course I told my instructor I worked saturdays and he told me that was not a problem as he regularly did the outdoor dives on sundays too. However, he only seemed to ever go out on Saturdays so I only managed to get on my first outdoor dive the summer after I started learning. On my first dive I had a really bad experience and had a panic attack and it took me until december (2017) to get back out and complete my first open water dive. I couldn't go out at the start of this year as we had all that crap weather and since May I've had to work Saturday and Sunday every week. I'm going to try and book time off to get it done but I have to book time off quite far in advance but we wont know if the dive is going ahead until the last minute depending on the weather. I've paid half of the course costs - my parents gave me the money for it so I really don't want to lose the time and money I have put in so far. I really want to get it finished and get my qualification but getting the time off work for it is going to be really difficult at the moment. Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do? Its just been a really unfortunate set of circumstances

2. jb2cool

jb2cool Moderator
    Staff Member

Rosie,
    I’m not really aware or any hard and fast time limits but I wonder about the practically or it all. Can you remember the theory you learnt all that time ago? If your training dives are going to be spaced apart, are you going to remember what you learned on one dive to put into practice on the next dive?