1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie!!!

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by kingo1984, Jun 12, 2019.

1. kingo1984

kingo1984 New Member

Hi everyone,
    Im new to diving, and by new I mean I have done it once in Lanzarote about 15 years ago. Always been a huge fan of the ocean but due to cost I was happy enough snorkeling/free diving whilst on holidays. I spent 6 Months in South Africa where I gained a little experience in spear fishing, but as far as scuba goes you can consider me a complete noob....
    I'm here for advice more than anything. I recently decided to take the plunge and buy my own equipment (as pictured below) I along with my Mrs am planning on a Move to North Wales in the next few months so thought it would be a perfect time to turn my hand to it again.
    As stupid as this may sound to you all my plan was to buy my gear and basically Jump in the shallows, having thought better of it tho I have decided to take a quick dive course at my now local dive school, but am reluctant to train to a qualified level. I have no idea how this all works but I know that I most definitely need a crash course in diver saftey before I start of. Being that I will more than likely be alone most times I go out! I would greatly appreciate all you're suggestions if possible? I do not plan to go to great depths right now, as if memory serves me right I really struggled with ears last time and equalizing. However I am thinking this may not be as much as an issue for me now with the free diving experience I have.