1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New from South Yorkshire

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by reefer, Apr 23, 2017.

1. reefer

reefer Member

Hi

Complete novice to diving from the Rotherham area here.

I've always had an interest in marine life and for a few years kept a marine aquarium with various hard corals etc
    Diving in a reef has always been on my bucket list, so hopefully I can get that crossed off once I have the necessary experience and skills. (photography needs to be in there!)

Having read various threads on the forum, I've decided that I am going to do the PADI Open Water course. As it's a fair investment financially, I've booked onto a dry dive first - just to make sure I don't have some kind of problem with it!

Interesting to hear from any local divers and what the club scene is like in the area ?

Cheers
    Al

2. splinter

splinter Active Member

Hi reefer. Welcome.

I live not far from you. I'm from Sheffield, living in Dronfield now.

Who are you doing your try dive with?

There are a few local clubs, both bsac and padi. The one I've had the most contact with is diveworld, who have shops at Hillsborough and SDS at Mosborough. Their training is to a high standard and they have a pretty active dive club.

I also remember hearing about a club based at ponds forge. They're padi, but run more like the bsac model. You pay a joining fee and then courses are included in the price. I'll see if i can dig up their details.

Once you have your OW, I'll happily dive with you, there's a couple of quarries not far away and if you fancy the sea, the farne islands are about 3 and a bit hours away. They're well worth visiting.

Lots of helpful people on this forum, so any questions, ask away.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

3. JohnL

JohnL Well-Known Member