1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internship-time!

Discussion in 'General Scuba Diving' started by Gaz, Dec 16, 2017.

1. Gaz

Gaz Member

Hi everyone.

The decision is made. Google has been fired-up. Its time to start looking.

I've been promising myself that one day, I would change my life and take myself off on an adventure and the starting point for that is an internship at a dive centre.

Any advice on whether to go down the self-funded or worked-for routes would be great and any particular dive centres that could be recommended would be great too. I'll be aiming to go in Quarter 2/3 of 2018.

I didn't take a "gap-yah" when I graduated, but 10 years later I've build a career (now safely logged on my CV), paid off uni and renovated a very-rentable little house. With no dependants or family (and a deep hatred of working in an office) - if ever there was a time to go, its now.

Google brings up thousands of internship programmes all around the world - some (almost) fully funded through work in the dive centre, others partially funded by the trainee (usually a few grand up front to cover certs/accommodation/etc). I have to start somewhere, so thought I'd ask here to see if anyone could recommend a particular place.

The duration of the trip would be determined by how long I can support myself financially - obviously any opportunity for (modestly-paid) work would extend this: there is no end-date, if I could keep it going for years then I would be open to that too - I suppose in that vein I might be better looking for a job at a dive centre where part of the pay would be my training and the rest would cover food and basic accommodation (subject to work permits etc).