1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi-Max LED strobe light?

Discussion in 'General Scuba Diving' started by Wibble, Feb 18, 2021.

1. Wibble

Wibble Fish don't talk
    UKD Supporter

Need to get a half decent strobe light to mark the shot line.

Has anyone used or seen a Hi-Max 2500 lumen LED strobe light?

It is Chinese and I'm wary that they're unreliable and nowhere near as bright as they claim!

2. Vanny

Vanny Well-Known Member

3. Vanny

Vanny Well-Known Member

Ps I have no experience of them but have the product saved in case I feel the need.

4. Wibble

Wibble Fish don't talk
    UKD Supporter

That’s the one. Anyone heard anything about them?

I did see a Trojan extreme on a boat last Sept. staggeringly bright, but expensive at some £350.

5. Vanny

Vanny Well-Known Member

Ah sorry no experience of them , you buy first , go on.

Wibble likes this.
  6. nickb

nickb Well-Known Member

I have the regular Trojan and it's very good. Way better than the N@90 Pathfinder I also have.

I've been tempted by the Extreme but it would only sit in the dive box with all the others doing fuck all :(

My Jotrons rarely get used now although I sometimes pop one in my suit pocket just in case

7. Dave Whitlow

Dave Whitlow Super Moderator
    Staff Member

I have Jotrons and N@90 Pathfinder and they've have been bright enough whenever I used them. The Light Monkey BAF strobe is stupidly bright too (8600 lumens!) but. as Nick said, they don't get used and are just more clutter in the garage..

The last time I needed a strobe was Malin Head, in 2016, as it is rare for UK diving to require return to shot.

8. nickb

nickb Well-Known Member

Seeing a whole bunch of strobes lighting-up the shot from the other end of the Audacious is one of my most memorable underwater experiences.

Dave Whitlow likes this.
  9. Wibble

Wibble Fish don't talk
    UKD Supporter