1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi everyone

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by John F, Jan 10, 2018.

1. John F

John F Member

I am a 55 year old, from Haslemere Surrey.
    I have been diving since 2000 with a couple of years off around 2011. I have done most of my diving around the south coast and Cornwall, with a trip to the Red Sea and four to the Maldives. I am qualified as PADI ape with deep, wreck and nitrox and an interest in getting into tec to do longer dives. I run my own business building and running historic race cars, sounds good but gets in the way of diving during the best part of the year, as most weekend are spent at circuits around Europe.
    John F

2. JohnL

JohnL Well-Known Member

Welcome John - a long-term Surrey resident, we moved to East Anglia 10 years ago and shortly move to Cheshire. Your business sounds wonderful for a petrol head, but as all jobs the reality is different.

3. Wibble

Wibble Fish don't talk
    UKD Supporter

Welcome John. Sounds rather exciting even though living out of a suitcase gets exceedingly tedious.

There is lots of winter diving although a lot of it does involve lakes and quarries. Dive boats do go out all year with the weather playing a major part in cancellations and poor conditions. Temperature isn't too much of an issue with descent drysuits and underclothes keeping one toastie warm - suit heaters are rather good for freezing lakes!

What sort of kit do you have? What's been your best/worst dive to date?

4. John F

John F Member

Hi Wibble,
    I have a single 15 setup for holidays, and a twin 12 for everything else. An o3 dry suit so used to cold lakes, I use scuba pro mk25 and s600 in the 15 setup and Apex ATX on the twins.
    Worst dive, probably most frustrating, the M2 with about .5 M vis. One of my favourite uk dives was the train wreck just of st Ives, but no boats run down that way now.