1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fins for drysuit diving

Discussion in 'Dive Equipment' started by ChrisW3, Jul 7, 2020.

1. ChrisW3

ChrisW3 New Member

I'm looking for fins to fit a size 11 Drysuit boot for UK recreational diving. I'm a novice diver and want to progress my diving but don't anticipate doing anything overly technical in the future.

Unfortunately non of the club fins fit so Ineed to jump in and buy some before having a chance to try different styles. I'm leaning towards RK3's but wondered if there's any more budget fins out there worth looking at. Also any advice on sizes to fit the drysuit size 11 boot.

Thanks

2. Tribal Chestnut

Tribal Chestnut Well-Known Member
    UKD Supporter

I use Scubapro Jet Fins and am very happy with them. They are heavy, but I have tried RK3s (standard, not HD), which felt like soggy cardboard in comparison.

3. Vanny

Vanny Well-Known Member

I dive Rk3’s , standard. I went from heavy Scubapro jets to these. First time diving Rk3 I jumped off the boat headed for the shot and thought twat you’ve left your fins off. Grabbed the shot looked down , I hadn’t forgotten them they’ve got no go in them. After a few dives I got used to them and now love them. Still got the jets , my son dives them.

4. Doomanic

Doomanic Dinosaur Wrangler
    Staff Member

I dived with Hollis F1 fins and before that Mares Quattros. The Hollis fins are heavier and stiffer and reward good technique.

5. Dave Whitlow

Dave Whitlow Super Moderator
    Staff Member

I have a (surplus) pair of Hollis F1 fins that fit my size 11 boots. For £50 + shipping they can be are yours.

6. ChrisW3

ChrisW3 New Member

Thanks. I'm interested - are they black? I was worried these may be a bit heavy for a novice diver, any thoughts on that?

7. Dave Whitlow

Staff Member

Black with spring straps and weigh about 3kg.