1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drysuit advice.... again

Discussion in 'Dry Suits' started by Paddy, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Paddy

Paddy New Member

Firstly apologies for asking the same question I'm sure has been posted countless times on here, but I've found myself going round in circles and need some help, (even after reading all the prior posts).

So here it is, I'm looking to buy my first drysuit for UK diving. I'm not on bankers bonuses so can't afford a top end suit however I'm looking for value for money not the cheapest thing on the market.

My problem is mainly around material type... What do I go for? As I'm still a novice a suit I don't rip open on my first dive would be a bonus, that said I like the idea and fit of neoprene.

Obviously everyone is different so I'm really just looking for opinions / experiences, as well as any specific recommendations.

As a final point I'm not a techie and plan to dive the usual UK dive sites, probably in the 20 - 25m range at max.

Thanks in advance.

2. aquanaut

aquanaut Well-Known Member

Where you located Paddy?

3. Paddy

Paddy New Member

Located in Cheshire.

4. Silty Bottom

Silty Bottom in DIRnial

Seaskin offer made to measure for less than a lot of manufacturers offer off the peg. There have been a few stories of the forums of a few issues of late. Saying that there is also horror stories about Northern Diver and I've only recently changed from mine after gaining a pound or two from quitting smoking :shy:, I know several people who dive them with no problems at all

5. Mustard Dave

Mustard Dave Member

I've got a Northern Diver Vortex membrane drysuit; I paid £500 for it.

[​IMG]

I've not had it long enough to find any problems but one of the divemasters at my club has the same suit and said he has given it plenty of hammer, using it on rescue diver courses.