1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Divedonky

Discussion in 'General Scuba Diving' started by Jason white, Mar 1, 2021.

?

I am new to diving and would like advice on best certificate and all the best equipment to buy

1. 10 answers

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. 10 answers

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Jason white

Jason white New Member

I’m new to scuba world and would like some info on what

2. jb2cool

jb2cool Moderator
    Staff Member

Get certified first before buying anything.

There are really 2 routes to take to start, pay-as-you-go (i.e. buy a course) or club based (where you pay for club membership and the training is included in that), which you take would ultimately be up to what kind of person you are and your curcumstances. If you don't have any friends that already dive then club based (there are shop based clubs too which sort of blur the lines between these 2) could be a sensible choice.

3. NickPicks

NickPicks Super Moderator

What JB said.

Best certificate/qualification: Depends on what sort of diving you want to do and where.
    If you will only ever want to dive on holiday in warm clear water, you're probably best off doing PADI Open Water then Advanced Open Water, and it's probably easiest to do it whilst on holiday.
    If you want to dive the best of UK wrecks and reefs, I'd say do BSAC Ocean Diver and then Sports Diver. This will give you the skills you need to dive in restricted visilbility tidal waters. Doing both courses with a BSAC club is usually quite easy, but depending on the club and the trainee, can take some time. If you want to do it quicker, you can use a BSAC centre to run the courses for you (this will cost more than the club route, but could be done in a few weekends).
    You could do the same skills with PADI, but I think the route would be Open Water, Advanced Open Water, Drysuit Diver, Rescue Diver, dSMB speciality.

4. Wibble