1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIR in the UK

Discussion in 'DIR Diving' started by MikeyH, Nov 14, 2015.

1. MikeyH

MikeyH Active Member
    UKD Supporter

Hi - I am a newbie as many of you know. I have a couple of questions WRT DIR.

What is the best, most current learning guide/book for DIR?

I see DIR and GUE often used, seemingly interchangeably, on this forum and I am confused e.g. In the top section of this forum there is a "GUE" guide to valve drills - I thought DIR was the ethos/standard and GUE was just an agency that is underpinned by DIR. Presumably all GUE guides/training are DIR guides/training without anything added?

Is GUE the only agency that is DIR based in the UK? (I had a look on the GUE web site to see if I could find a list of certified instructors in the UK, but haven't found it yet - will keep looking).

Thanks

2. Doomanic

Doomanic Dinosaur Wrangler
    Staff Member

3. MikeyH

MikeyH Active Member
    UKD Supporter

Thanks Doom - still a small number in the UK.

So looking at that not much benefit until I start using a twinset? I really need to understand where this sits - more investigation needed as I really don't understand how it works for someone like me just starting out.

4. Gareth Burrows

Gareth Burrows Super Moderator
    Staff Member

DIR was an approach to diving, an ethos if you will. GUE is the largest training organisation to promote the DIR method of diving.

Huge benefit of diving with a single cylinder - IF you dive with other GUE divers. The number of GUE divers in the UK is approximately 500, which sounds small compared to the number of PADI or BSAC divers, except they are all together in one Facebook group and go diving constantly, which makes us almost certainly the largest single group of divers in the UK