1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Commando BCD

Discussion in 'Dive Equipment' started by SimonL, Sep 11, 2017.

1. SimonL

SimonL New Member

Hi,

I'm an AOW trained diver but have only dived overseas (in nice warm water :)), but I have limited experience and I'm a complete newbie to diving in the UK and looking for help in building my collection of kit please.

I've found a Commando BCD on offer and the seller tells me that it is in full working order but (reasonably) recommends a service. Pictures I have are as follows:

Capture 1.JPG Capture 2.JPG

Does this look reasonable condition and if so about what price should I be paying?

Thanks in anticipation.

2. Tel

Tel Super Moderator
    Staff Member

It's the latest generation of the Commando and looks to be ok although it's hard to tell if it's faded or just a washed
    out pic. Wear areas are the webbing, it goes a bit smooth on the shoulder pull-downs and on the bottom edge where
    it starts to fray. It's got the APV200 inflator which is good as many have the auto-air which is bad.

Check that it has got integrated weight pouches as those could be blanks. The pouches can be bought from AP,
    but that will cost £32, so best to make sure as that will effect the price. The knife if with it is worth £10-£15.
    https://www.apdiving.com/shop/spare...ent-weight-pouches-for-ap-bcds-post-2007.html

https://www.apdiving.com/shop/bcd-open-circuit/bcds/ap-commando.html

This retails for £375, but AP have lots of deals on at the moment which brings that right down to sub £300.
    S/hand and in need of a service, well that will cost about £30 at least, so i'd be looking to pay no more than about
    £120 tops if it's got the pouches, maybe £100 without.

3. SimonL

SimonL New Member

Tel, thanks for the quick response and links.