1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Camera for a beginner

Discussion in 'Underwater Photography/Videography' started by Liv, Aug 2, 2018.

1. Liv

Liv New Member

I'm trying to get back into my diving and would love a camera! I have never used a camera underwater before, so am looking for something easy to use, and preferably under £300! I only have my Open Water, but will completing my Advanced Open Water soon!

Does anyone have any recommendations for a camera? Thanks!

2. JohnL

JohnL Well-Known Member

The advice to me at your stage was to forget about photos and keep the memories in your head. It is a distraction from buoyancy, gas monitoring etc. and doesn't help your buddy. I did eventually buy a go pro look alike and it produced rubbish videos that reminded me of the dives (and of the inside of my bcd pocket when the wrong button was pressed). I flooded it this year and it died - I don't miss it.

jb2cool likes this.
  3. jb2cool

jb2cool Moderator
    Staff Member

Pretty good advice there, concentrate on diving for the time being and only then move on. Underwater photography gets expensive fast but you need solid skills first

4. Wibble

Wibble Fish don't talk
    UKD Supporter

Totally concur that photography is hard and a massive distraction when learning to dive.

I originally had a GoPro birthday present which I took diving. Got lots of crappy photos, nothing like the ones you see published. But they're momentos all the same.

The GoPro was not great. The battery life dreadful and I believe its still their Achilles heel.

When I flooded it by not closing the case -- d'oh -- I replaced it with a MuVi K2 which was half the price of the GoPro and came with all the stuff GoPro charge loads for. At the current price around £130 it's great value. It has a long battery life and the pictures are just as awful as the GoPro ones.