1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buying new kit... New/Used... online from abroad...

Discussion in 'Dive Equipment' started by gs_triumph, Apr 28, 2015.

1. gs_triumph

gs_triumph New Member

Hi,

I am new to diving having qualified earlier this year as a BSAC Ocean Diver and am in the process of buying my first kit to go diving with my club. The club have kit that i can use but i'd like to have my own. My local dive store seems expensive. I know you get better service and the guys are very knowledgeable and helpful etc but when buying a load of kit straight away it makes it very expensive!

I have a dry suit, mask and a dive computer. I need to purchase open water fins, regs & gauges, gloves and a hood.

In order to help cut the cost I am looking to purchase a used BCD. I have found a Ralf Tech Cocoon for sale locally that fits well, appears to be in very good condition and is a third of the price of a new BCD at my local dive shop. The seller has stated it is only a couple of years old however i can't find much info on ralf tech so i am assuming they have gone out of business (or switched to watches) and probably before a couple of years ago. The thing that concerns me is will spares be available for it if needed or am i buying on the proviso nothing goes wrong? Are valves etc standard across manufacturers?

I can take advantage of the fact the euro is trashed. There is an italian seller on ebay selling kits of varying make ups. I was thinking about buying this kit containing Cressi MC9 reg, SEAC X-5 octopus and a 2 guage console. I have contacted the seller and they can add SEAC Propulsion 4x4 fins, a hood and gloves for another £70. The same seller can add a SEAC Ego BCD to this kit for around £70 more but they don't seem to have favorable reviews hence i'm erring toward the used BCD.

Does that make sense?

2. gs_triumph

gs_triumph New Member