1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bought a BARE suit on eBay...

Discussion in 'Dry Suits' started by Futurekubik, Feb 2, 2018.

1. Futurekubik

Futurekubik New Member

Hi there. I am relatively new to scuba diving and got my open water PADI. I wanted to do my drysuit speciality next so instead of buying a replacement laptop I thought I'd secure a quality drysuit that I could use in U.K. coastal waters once I was qualified.

So I bought a BARE drysuit from a seller on eBay listed as 'brand new with labels removed' and in the text they'd written 'never used'. No returns accepted. Shipping from Leicester.

However upon delivery (from Latvia I might add) there is information hand-written on the inside, some of which (serial number) has been scribbled over. This means it's been used, surely? They don't write it in then scribble it out from the factory, right?

I'm making a claim for my money back (the suit cost more than my car!) but I just new to be certain - it's not a standard practise for drysuit manufacturers like Bare to hand-write ANYTHING into the suits before shipping them to retailers is it?!

I fear I've been jipped. Thank god for the eBay refund guarantee, but I haven't started the refund process yet and wanted to be especially sure I will win the case, hence why I'm asking here. I'm going to contact the manufacturers in the US once they open later on today to ask the same question.

Apologies if this is the wrong questions to be asking in this forum

2. Vanny

Vanny Active Member

My O3 has info is all hand written into the flap behind the zip. Date of manufacture, serial number , name. From memory my previous DUI was also hand written into the label. Many custom made suits will have hand written notes on the panels so it goes together correct.